EC Library Guide on regional policy: Selected books
Selected books
Cultural and creative industries and regional development by ISBN: 9783031296239Publication Date: 2023This book explores the role of the cultural and creative industries (CCIs) as drivers of local economic development. More specifically, it builds on two novel perspectives in order to interpret the phenomenon. First, despite the general recognition that CCIs are innovative economic actors, their creative output is heterogeneous, as CCIs consist of extremely diverse industries, and the concept of innovation differs from sector to sector. Second, CCIs' creativity is locally rooted, as the context provides innovative inputs for the development of creative ideas, binding creativity with well-established theories of the regional innovation literature. The book explores these new perspectives through a novel database on CCIs' innovation at a fine industrial and regional scale.
Cultural heritage and territorial identity: Synergies and development impact on EuropeanISBN: 9783030944681Publication Date: 2022
This book explores and substantiates the role of cultural heritage as an engine for local socio-economic development. Starting from the assumption that cultural heritage represents a valuable, unique and irreplaceable resource for European regions, it identifies and quantitatively analyzes tourism and territorial identity as two different channels through which cultural heritage can influence local socio-economic development.The book highlights the fact that cultural heritage not only has a positive influence on local cultures, societies and environments, but also plays a role in the process of local economic growth. Providing comprehensive empirical evidence that explains and discusses whether and how the endowment of cultural heritage benefits local socio-economic growth, it will appeal to scholars and students of cultural economics and regional science, and anyone interested in sustainable socio-economic development.
Economic regulation of urban and regional airports by ISBN: 9783031203398Publication Date: 2023This book offers new insights into the theory and practice of economic airport regulation. In light of recent developments in aviation markets and policy, and the debate on airport regulation and benchmarking, it offers case studies on various aspects of economic regulation of city and regional airports. Written by experts in the field, the volume features contributions on the theory of regulation and benchmarking, as well as case studies on recent experiences in Europe and Latin America. This book is divided into three parts: Part I provides the theoretical background for the study of airport regulation and regulatory systems. Competition at airports is discussed, as are common forms of regulation and potential pitfalls. Part II addresses benchmarking, as benchmarking is often applied as an input to the regulatory process. Although benchmarking is necessary, reviews of how benchmarking is applied in the literature and in practice show that improvements can be made. Part III provides case studies on real-world examples. Addressing the question of whether and how European airport regulators set incentives for efficiency, and how benchmarking is used in the regulatory process, this book is an important contribution to the development of the transport industry in Europe and Latin America.
EU cohesion policy implementation - evaluation challenges and opportunities: The 1st International Conference on Evaluating Challenges in the Implementation of EU Cohesion Policy (EvEUCoP 2022), Coimbra, 2022 by ISBN: 9783031181610Publication Date: 2023This open access book is the result of the 1st International Conference on Evaluating Challenges in the Implementation of EU Cohesion Policy (EvEUCoP 2022). It presents the recent findings, sparks discussion, and reveals new research paths addressing the use of novel methodologies and approaches to tackle the challenges and opportunities that are unveiled with the implementation of the EU cohesion policy. The authors cover a wide range of topics including the monitoring of data; the clearness of indicators in measuring the impact of interventions; novel evaluation methods, addressing the mid-term and terminal assessment; as well as case studies and applications on evaluations of the thematic objectives under the scrutiny of the cohesion policy.
EU Cohesion Policy: A multidisciplinary approach by ISBN: 9781802209396Publication Date: 2024This engaging and topical book comprehensively explores the complexities surrounding the EU Cohesion Policy, which has been addressing regional and urban development across Europe since the 1980s. Adopting a multidisciplinary approach, it considers the goals of this long-term investment policy, which is to reduce territorial disparities between Member States and their regions, and its role in the European integration process. Bringing together contributions from an interdisciplinary team of eminent scholars and policy practitioners, chapters offer expert analysis of the disciplinary genealogies of the EU Cohesion Policy, its contemporary issues, and perceptive reflections on its future. The book provides keen insights into current academic-policy debates, and a deeper understanding of the EU Cohesion Policy's achievements. The expert's insights contribute to the debate that this policy must face to address the most pressing European challenges. Each chapter includes different perspectives ranging from political, economic and legal to the urban and social dimensions and investigates ways to boost research-policy dialogue on Cohesion Policy.
The European Integration, Vol. 2: Institutions and Policies by ISBN: 9783031471759Publication Date: 2024This two-volume textbook teaches about the uniqueness and the difficulty of the European unification project. Volume 2 provides a comprehensive overview of the European Union's institutions and policies, such as agricultural and fisheries policies, economic and monetary policy, environmental policy, foreign affairs and defence policy, social policy, competition policy, regional policy, as well as immigration and asylum policy.
European regional development: Contemporary regional and local perspectives of socio-economic and socio-political changes by ISBN: 9783030846589Publication Date: 2021This book offers a comprehensive overview of contemporary issues of regional development. It places particular emphasis on its socio-economic and socio-political determinants which accompany the problem of existing and ever-widening differences in the level of regional development in various parts of Europe. In order to diagnose the scale of those differences and to indicate the main forces behind the divergence of development, the authors propose an original systematisation of regional development factors, drawing attention to the need to consider them within the framework of present-day socio-economic megatrends. The proposed approach to the development factors is also used for the author's operationalisation of the concept of territorial capital, which is at the centre of regional place-based policy. The wide spatial aspect of the analysis (national and local) and its extensive temporal scope (2004-2019) yields unique results and creates an important element of added value for this book, which shows the regularities of the process of regional development in Europe at three spatial levels - pan-European, national and intra-regional.
Innovation and regional technological convergence: Theory and evidence by ISBN: 9783031245312Publication Date: 2023
This open access book explores the role of innovation in technological convergence processes in the EU regional space and shifts the focus from absolute and conditional income convergence to technological convergence and its determinants. Presenting new theoretical and empirical evidence on the determinants and trajectory of the EU region’s development and convergence, this book will appeal to scholars of economics and regional science, as well as practitioners and policymakers interested in the policy implications of regional technological convergence. The presented findings will also contribute to the development of the knowledge-based economy paradigm in the regional context. This is an open access book.
NEETs in European Rural Areas: Individual features, support systems and policy measures by ISBN: 9783031456787Publication Date: 2024This open access book constitutes a transnational and multidisciplinary inquiry of the most pressing challenges faced by young people Not in Employment, nor in Education or Training (NEET) in rural areas across Europe. . Rural NEETs are one of the most invisible segments of the youth population, in spite of the fact that the percentage of NEETs is higher in the countryside, compared to those in suburban and urban areas across the EU and many of the Southern and Eastern European countries. This book identifies and analyses different factors that may contribute to or hamper youth social development and social inclusion. Among them are main individual features of rural NEETs, the quality and characteristics of rural NEETs' informal social networks and support, the singularities of formal and non-formal education in rural areas and how they shape the transition from school to work, the role of employment services in providing adequate institutional support, the importance of policy package designor the role of new paradigms of rural development to uphold vulnerable young people in the European countryside . The contributions offered in this book provide a new model of analysis and comprehension of rural NEETs' personal development and social inclusion.
New metropolitan perspectives: Transition with resilience for evolutionary development by ISBN: 3031342119Publication Date: 2023This open access book conveys attention to the theme of transition towards resilience and sustainability and its evolutionary perspective that emphasizes the complexity and uncertainty that governments and society are called to address in response to the ongoing challenges. "New Metropolitan Perspective Post COVID Dynamics: Green and Digital Transition, between Metropolitan and Return to Villages’ Perspectives”, 25–27 May 2022, Reggio Calabria, Italy. The papers included in the book are grouped around the following main topics: the envisaged transition towards resilience and sustainability; the relevance of the planning dimension for defining sustainable development pathways and managing complexity; and the green and digital transition by glimpsing at approaches, experiences, and cases that outline innovative solutions in cities and inner areas. The book primarily targets the academic and policymaker communities involved in managing the complexity of the transition for regions and cities.
Public policies for territorial cohesion by ISBN: 9783031262272Publication Date: 2023This book introduces a comprehensive and updated analysis of the role of public policies to promote territorial cohesion processes and trends in a given territory. By being the first book taking a reflective and holistic approach on how public policies can lead to more cohesive and balanced territories, it advances theoretical avenues for academics and showcases current academic research to policymakers and practitioners by focusing on how public policies, being implemented in different territorial scales (urban, local, regional, national, and European), can actively contribute to foster territorial cohesion trends in a given territory. This reflective approach provides an opportunity for thinking about what lessons can be learned from past and ongoing experiences and how they can improve future implementation of public policies more effectively and efficiently toward territorial cohesion, since all existing analyses show that at the national level, no European country has achieved territorial cohesion trends over the past decades.
The Rural-Migration Nexus: Global Problems, Rural Issues by ISBN: 9783031180415Publication Date: 2023This edited collection aims to examine the global-rural relationship of migration that shapes rural places. It does this by acknowledging that to understand the impact of the international migration-global nexus, it is essential to explore how it is experienced at a local level - in the context of this book, rural regions. Focusing on agribusiness and rural development, as well as the othering of international migrants and the shifting boundaries of belonging in rural spaces, the chapters in this book examine how globalisation, with migration being a constitutive feature, influences different rural contexts in the 'Global North' and the impact this has on migrant populations. Chapters demonstrate the harsh lived experiences/realities characterised by mental health issues and emotional labour for migrants, occupational health and safety issues in the workplace and experiences of exclusion and racism from 'host' communities. These chapters taken together identify a rural-migration nexus where the relationship between international migration and localised rural spaces are mutually constitutive.
Solidarity: A Normative Principle by ISBN: 9789403535968Publication Date: 2023The term solidarity has acquired a commendable meaning of mutual responsibility, yet remains suspect because it has been invoked in too broad a spectrum of cultural contexts, ranging from fascist ideology to human rights. This essential book shows how solidarity may be - should be - conceived as a normative principle with pressing legal content, instrumental to the realisation of the social ends of today's democratic polities. The author, for the first time in such depth, documents the interweaving of legal norms with social ideas and values, focusing on the use of the principle of solidarity in the European Union's bodies and in its Member States. There are detailed examinations of how the principle appears in such realms as the following: national constitutions; welfare systems; regulation of contracts; social effects of legal rules; women's rights; the social market economy; the social doctrine of the Catholic Church; affirmation of corporate social responsibility; and sustainability and corporate governance.
Urban informality: A multidisciplinary perspective by ISBN: 9783031298264Publication Date: 2023This book analyzes the informal practices of contemporary cities through a close dialogue between different research perspectives, with the shared goal of giving voice to informality and evaluating its benefits and potential in a multidimensional key of social factors. Recently, the human sciences have seen the emergence of this new term "informality," at first sight in conflict with their function of giving order and form to social phenomena. A term with which, in this book, the authors, having as reference the Italian and European experience, specifically identify those unsatisfied social demands and those collective actions "from below" that aim at the recovery of urban space and the renewal of its organization, often not following the trajectories of legality and institutions. By means of a close dialogue between different areas of social research, this book attempts to establish the different declinations and applications of the term, evaluating the causes and effects, benefits, and potential of the phenomena attributable to it, within a multidimensional analysis that calls into question the regeneration and collective use of spaces, political-institutional confrontation and conflict, legal innovation, and social-economic benefits.
Urbanization in Europe: Past Developments and Pathways to a Sustainable Future by ISBN: 9783031622601Publication Date: 2024This open access book comes at an opportune time, with 'land take' high on the EU policy agenda. It shows how over one million hectares in Europe became urbanized between 2000 and 2018, over eight times that which changed back to agriculture or nature. This book seeks to explain this development and offer suggestions on how to control it, drawing on the ESPON Sustainable Urbanization and land-use Practices in European Regions (SUPER) project. It presents up-to-date analyses on urbanization rates (land take) as well as densities and morphology (sprawl). It also discusses the impact of spatial planning instruments and other public-sector interventions. Finally, the book peers into the future by drawing up urbanization scenarios - compact, polycentric, and diffuse - for 2050, and reflects on their sustainability. It concludes with the encouraging message that policy can make a positive difference.
